to our newsletter


Brussels, Belgium
Knokke, Belgium
Zaventem, Belgium


Cornelius Annor, M’adwendwen translated “My thinking”, 2022, fabric collage, fabric transfer and acrylic on canvas, 151 x 212 cm


Founded in 1995, MARUANI MERCIER represents nineteen contemporary artists alongside its program of museum-quality historical exhibitions, whilst continuing to build on the legacy of several renowned estates. Showing established artists alongside young and emerging new talent, the gallery promotes dialogue across generations and continents. Initially, the gallery’s program focused on celebrated American artists from the 1980s who sought to reflect the aesthetic and social concerns of their time. This includes Ross Bleckner, Francesco Clemente, Ron Gorchov, Peter Halley, Jonathan Lasker, and Sue Williams. Over the years, the gallery looked to a new generation of artists who, working within different media, also address topical subjects relating to history, politics, the environment, as well as questions of identity and authorship. Amongst these, Radcliffe Bailey, Esiri Erheriene-Essi, and Hank Willis Thomas examine topics surrounding Black history and culture whilst Lyle Ashton Harris looks at societal constructs of sexuality and race. Jaclyn Conley´s nostalgic paintings present a poignant rumination on the socio-political concerns of American life, whilst Tony Matelli confronts themes of isolation and impermanence with humor and irony. In 2001, MARUANI MERCIER opened an additional gallery in Knokke, followed by a 15,000 sq ft exhibition space and artist residency in Zaventem called THE WAREHOUSE in 2018. This expansion heralded a vanguard of artists from West Africa including Kwesi Botchway and Cornelius Annor, who have participated in the residency program. Their inclusion in the gallery’s already versatile program ensures further engagement with the ever-changing canon of art history.


Cornelius Annor, born in 1990, Ghana
Ross Bleckner, born in 1949, USA
Kwesi Botchway, born in 1994, Ghana
Toiletpaper (Maurizio Cattelan / Pierpaolo Ferrari), Italy
Ron Gorchov, born in 1930, Italy
Peter Halley, born in 1953, USA
Tony Matelli, born in 1971, USA
Paul Mogensen, born in 1941, USA
Arne Quinze, born in 1971, Belgium
Philip Taaffe, born in 1955, USA
Emmanuel Taku, born in 1986, Ghana
Erwin Wurm, born in 1954, Austria


Cornelius Annor
Radcliffe Bailey
Ross Bleckner
Kwesi Botchway
Francesco Clemente
Jaclyn Conley
Esiri Erheriene-Essi
Ron Gorchov
Peter Halley
Lyle Ashton Harris
Justin Brice
Jonathan Lasker
Tony Matelli
Arne Quinze
Philip Taaffe
Emmanuel Taku
Hank Willis Thomas
Gavin Turk
Sue Williams
Johnson Eziefula