For more information on how to get around Dubai, restaurant recommendations and public transport information please download our Art Dubai Travel Guide



Before you travel to the UAE, please check your visa requirements and make sure you have a valid visa if needed.

Citizens of the GCC countries Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia do not need a visa to enter the UAE. As of 29th April 2016, GCC residence permit holders will need to apply for a UAE visa before arriving in Dubai.

Visa on arrival

If your country of nationality appears on the list below, no advance visa arrangements are required to visit the UAE. Simply disembark your flight at Dubai International Airport and proceed to Immigration, where your passport will be stamped with a 30-days visit visa free of charge.

  • Andorra
  • Hong Kong
  • Monaco
  • South Korea
  • Australia
  • Ireland
  • New Zealand
  • United Kingdom
  • Brunei
  • Japan
  • San Marino
  • United States of America
  • Canada
  • Malaysia
  • Singapore
  • Vatican City

If your country of nationality appears on the list below, your passport will be stamped with a multiple entry 90-days visit visa that is valid for 6 months from the date of issue, and for a stay of 90 days in total.

  • Austria
  • Cyprus
  • Finland
  • Hungary
  • Liechtenstein
  • Netherlands
  • Romania
  • Spain
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • France
  • Iceland
  • Lithuania
  • Norway
  • Seychelles
  • Sweden
  • Bulgaria
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Poland
  • Slovakia
  • Switzerland
  • Croatia
  • Estonia
  • Greece
  • Latvia
  • Malta
  • Portugal
  • Slovenia

Visitors from all other countries are advised to consult their local UAE consulates.

Please note that entry into the UAE is subject to immigration approval.



Located on the Eastern coast of the Arabian Peninsula in the southwest corner of the Arabian Gulf, Dubai is the second largest of the seven emirates in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The official language is Arabic, but English is widely spoken across the UAE. The UAE is 4 hours ahead of the UTC (Universal Coordinated Time, formerly GMT). The official currency is the Arab Emirates Dirham (AED or DHS), which is pegged to the US Dollar at a rate of AED 3.67 / $1.

Home to over 200 nationalities, Dubai has been a trading post and meeting point for South Asia, Iran, the Arab world and Africa for hundreds of years. Dubai has become known as a city of business, entrepreneurship, debate, and a meeting point for the creative industry. It is in Dubai that the art world as a globalised phenomenon is most evident.

This homegrown support for artists, exhibitions and museums has been vital to Art Dubai’s success and provides a robust platform for international discourse.

There are many safe and reliable taxis available for you to take from the airport to your destination. Please do change some money into dirhams, before your flight or at the airport, as taxis here will not accept any other currency.

We hope that you enjoy your stay in Dubai and explore the city’s vibrant art scene.